Each Other

On March 4, 2014, Each Other will release their first LP, Being Elastic, on Lefse Records. Recorded to tape in their home-built studio in Montreal between tours across Canada, Europe and the U.S., Being Elastic is a document of a band always trying to move further out in terms of songwriting and production.

Initial recordings were shelved in favor of starting over, as new songs piled up and intra-band shreddery intensified. The restless energy that defines their work habits shows up everywhere in their music. The songs have a solid foundation in avant-rock-pop traditions but are thwarted from sounding like any kind of reverent tribute to what’s come before by being adventurous and exploratory. Surprise breaks, abrupt left-turns, tangled riffage, sidelong-glancing lyrics and Space Echo murk all punctuate the full-throated harmonies, artful melody and bright, ringing tone that makes up the core of these songs.

Brad Loughead (vocals/bass/guitar), Mike Wright (vocals/bass/guitar) and Christian Simmons (percussion/tape echo) each play an integral role in the composition and execution of their decidedly psychedelic reveries. Hailing from Halifax, Nova Scotia, a well-known breeding ground for unheralded artistic achievement, Each Other relocated to Montreal and were well-received with an anticipated and much-deserved fervor.

At every turn, Being Elastic is a record that sounds forward-looking but not futuristic, meticulously constructed but not formulaic or predictable. It’s the sound of three people working hard on their own terms, without a promo budget or obnoxious social media hustling, to make a record that speaks for itself.



Being Elastic
March 4, 2014 / Lefse Records

01. About the Crowd
02. Send Your Signals
03. Scared Witless, Really
04. You or Any Other Thing
05. The Trick You Gave Up
06. Fine Time
07. High Noon in the Living Room
08. Your Ceiling is My Floor
09. Seeing Doubles, Dreaming Troubles
10. Or Else
11. Swell Patterns
12. Relative Super Vision

Heavily Spaced
October 25, 2012 / Self Released

Side A:
01. Ash Mound
02. An Instant
03. With Bad Neighbours

Side B:
01. A Good Neighbourhood
02. A Strong Spinning
03. Finally Collided